First Announcement (02/20/2014)

  USTC Summer School on 



         Galaxies and Supermassive Black Holes


                                  USTC, Hefei, China (23 June - 4 July, 2014) 


  Understanding the formation and co-evolution of galaxies and supermassive black holes (SMBHs) within the framework of current CDM cosmology, has been one of the most fundamental questions in modern astrophysics. The quest for answers to this question has become one of the main driving forces in current astrophysical research. To introduce students and researchers to this fascinating and fast evolving field, the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) will host a two-week (23 June - 04 July 2014) summer school consisting of series of lectures to be delivered by four prominent experts in the field. The invited lecturers will present in a systematic way recent observational and theoretical results, outstanding issues, and future prospects of investigations in the area of galaxy formation and co-evolution with SMBHs. The goal is to stimulate intensive discussions, to identify important research areas, and to foster collaborations. The specific topics to be covered are active galactic nucleus (AGN) observations and theories, galaxy observations and galaxy formation physics, as well as AGN-galaxy connection. The summer school is intended for graduate students, senior undergraduate students, and others who are interested in pursuing investigations in the field.


  Time: 23 June - 4 July, 2014


  Location: East campus, USTC


  Invited Lecturers: 

  Niel Brandt (Pennsylvania State University)

  Luis Ho (KIAA, Peking University)

  Houjun Mo (University of Massachusetts, USTC)

  Feng Yuan (Shanghai Astronomical Observatory)



  AGN observations and theories

  Galaxy observations and galaxy formation physics

  AGN-galaxy connection



  Graduate students

  Senior undergraduate students

  Interested others


  Scientific Organizing Committee: 

  Houjun Mo (UMass & USTC; co-chair)

  Tinggui Wang (USTC)

  Yongquan Xue (USTC; co-chair)

  Yefei Yuan (USTC)


  Local Organizing Committee: 

  Shan Lu (USTC; co-chair)

  Weiran Xing (USTC)

  Yongquan Xue (USTC; co-chair)

  Nan Zhou (USTC)


  Web Link: (for registration and other information)


  Registration: open now; close on 10 June 2014

  Registration fee: RMB500 for students, RMB600 for researchers 

                   (Please pay your registration fee in cash upon your arrival)